top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFelicia writes

My Symbolic Camera

Updated: Jan 28, 2020

Our first assignment was to create a symbolic camera...



Take yourself back and remember the very first time you saw or interacted with a camera... that is where we started
 

Create a Symbolic Camera that represents the film you want to make... this is what we were instructed for our very first assignment.


The Symbolic Camera


I started with an image of the camera I wanted to create; from the outside the camera would appear unassuming, modelled on a vintage film camera that requires a dark cover in order to view the image inside. By choosing to present my symbolic camera this way, I choose to invite anyone interacting with my camera to appreciate the importance and privacy of that invitation. As each individual lifted the cover to look inside, they were shrouded in a moment of darkness until they chose to switch on the light and were presented with a private inner world within the camera.



I chose to create my film with the same pursuit in order to demonstrate a vulnerability and braveness within Mental Health. Not unlike my symbolic camera, each individual in my film will provide an invitation into a part of their worlds, and often through a lens of pain... my hope is to document the humanity and togetherness with sharing ones hardships with another.


11 views0 comments
bottom of page